Dear Hurting Heart

There are times we feel hurt, hopeless and helpless. Life throws bricks at us to break our hearts and fight our faith.
In stormy seasons like this, our strength and skills seem worthless. We tend to believe that it’s either prayers are not working or God is not listening.

I have been through such situations in recent times, I was tempted to ask, “where is God?” I stopped breathing for days. I couldn’t feel myself, God seems so distant, I drowned in feelings of defeat, disappointments, denial and delay that I was dealing with.

In stretching my faith, I prayed, praised, worshipped, cried and pleaded but things appeared to get more out of my control. In all of these, a still small voice kept on telling me that I was not buried to die but ‘buried to bloom‘.

Image credit: hylo.de

I began to ruminate of the lives of Bible characters such as Joseph, David, Job, Esther and Jesus. These great characters faced tough situations that made it look like they were forgotten and forsaken, but God -the ever faithful One came through for them.

When you feel buried, broken or battered by the battles of life. When you feel stranded, stuck and surrounded by the storm of life. Don’t feel dismayed or despondent, God may be using the storm to strengthen you. He sometimes uses battles to build, bless and beautify our lives.

Dear broken heart, I may not know what you are going through but I know that tough times are temporary seasons that come with a lesson and a blessing. Here are some ways to hold on and stay strong in the storm.

  • Find support from genuine and godly friends and family.

  • Study God’s word, study plans on ‘hope’ would help.
  • Pray even when you don’t feel like, ask friend a to join you in prayers.
  • Listen to songs and sermons that will stir up your faith
  • Discard depressing thoughts and materials.
  • Take a break from social media (platforms) or anything that may fuel frustration.
  • Talk to Godand talk to people who can help.
  • Listen and be on the look out, God is with you and He is whispering words of faith to you.

Feel free to say these poetic prayers.

Dear God,
Help me to see your hand
when life’s flame floods my eyes.
Help me to daily understand
that You are wonderful and wise.

Dear God,
Help me to walk in wisdom
to know what’s perfect to do.
Help me to flow in freedom
to lead a life that’s true.

Dear God,
Let me not turn to sin for relief
no matter how tough life gets.
Save me from gloom and grief
no matter how sorrow besets.

Dear God,
Help me to know that I am
not buried in darkness to die.
Help to know that I am
favoured, fortified and free to fly.

Finally, here is an admonition to everyone going through troubles. “For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever!” 2 Corinthians 4:17

© Adeleke Adeite 2020
Kindly share this with your friends and family.

24 thoughts on “Dear Hurting Heart”

  1. So powerfully true. Been reading “A Sacred Sorrow” by Michael Card…a study book on lament and finding God again in the midst of sorrow….uses Job, David, Jesus and Jeremiah as examples…..Just cause God is hidden in the midst as we walk the shores of loneliness doesn’t mean He isn’t there. Grace and peace to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Theresa. You are right. The Bible recorded that God was with Joseph when he was sold into slavery and when he was sent to prison. God never leaves or forsake His own.

      He said that He will be with us when we pass through the fire.

      Shalom.

      Like

Leave a comment